New Goals

So my goal for the first part of 2010 was to finish the Broad Street Run on May 2.  I did this in 2 hours and 51 seconds.  I started my training in February using a run/walk training plan that I found in Born to Run (a great book about running, link to authors web site, will discuss more about this in another post).  I’ve cut back on my mileage since the race, and I’m trying to figure out what to do now.  There’s a duathlon in July I might try, 3 mile run, 17 mile bike, 3 mile run.  However, this lower mileage goal is not an excuse to slack off on the mileage/speed work.  I put in some hard work getting to the 10 miles and don’t want to lose all of it. The Philadelphia ING 1/2 Marathon looks very interesting for the fall.  

 I also want to work on my upper body strength without joining a gym.  I’ll be re-starting the 100 push ups routine.  I’ve tried this in the past, but no more that a two weeks at a time.  The pull up bar I bought for x-mas isn’t being used right now, since I’m not currently able to do even 1 pull up (not that I’ve ever been able to do a pull up).  I want to fix that as well… I’ll start by doing a modified pull up by putting my head under my desk hands on top and pulling my way up from there. 

photo taken by the sometime-in-the-future Mr. ExtraGrunty

I was so happy to see Mr. ExtraGrunty and friends at mile 5!  I look like a complete dork in my running gear, but it works for me. 🙂

3 thoughts on “New Goals

  1. Willa says:

    You look GREAT!!!!! WOW! BTW you looked VERY in shape Saturday and you could tell that you have been working out. You are inspiring me to get back to work on getting me in shape!

Leave a Reply

