Homemade Shea Butter Moisturizer

I have very dry, flakey skin that still breaks out along the T zone (thank you hormones).  I’ve tried many facial moisturizers and while I found one that works pretty well for me (Lush Skin Nanny), I don’t really like the price ($50/1.7oz.).  As my pot started running out I tried using straight pure unrefined Shea Butter.  That worked ok, but my face still felt tight and was a little bit flakey.  I decided it was time to make my own moisturizer.  After doing some google searches and not finding quite what I was looking for I put together this:

ExtraGrunty’s Shea Butter Moisturizer

1 Tablespoon pure Shea Butter

1 Teaspoon Jojoba Oil

¼ Teaspoon Glycerin

2 drops Essential oil of your choice (I used Lavender)

Using a small pot and metal bowl, set up a double boiler and bring water to a boil in the pot.  Add your Shea butter to the bowl and stir until melted.  Add jojoba oil and stir in.  Add in glycerin, stir in and remove bowl from pot.  Stir in two drops of essential oil.  Using hand mixer (I used one beater), mix until ingredients start to solidify and turn creamy.  This process can be sped up using an ice water bath.  Make sure you scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl during the mixing process as you want all of the ingredients to be evenly incorporated in the final product.  If the mixture is lumpy, it can be reheated by placing your bowl back over your pan, melting your ingredients (this won’t take long) and remixing.  Once cool, scoop into a clean container and enjoy.

I’ve been using this for the past week and it’s working great so far.  My skin is supple and flake free, it absorbs well, doesn’t leave a greasy feeling, and my breakouts seem to be lessening.  I also think it smells better than my previous store-bought moisturizer.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Shea Butter Moisturizer

Leave a Reply

